When does sunset start getting later where you are?

Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve heard several people lament how early it’s getting dark these days. They’ve all said something along the lines of “I can’t wait for the first day of winter to get here, so it will start getting darker later.”

I had good news. In Atlanta, sunset starts getting later tomorrow, several days BEFORE the first day of winter. In every city I’ve checked, sunset starts getting later BEFORE winter’s start. Anchorage is the latest I found to join the party, coming in on Dec. 20. Of course, in the Southern hemisphere, they’re enjoying their longest days of the year. I’m not at all jealous.

So, yes, the days still get shorter until winter starts, but I find those extra few minutes of daylight at the end of the day make a HUGE difference to me. What about for you?

Go visit Time and Day.com and tell us when the sunset starts getting later where you are. Please? I’m completely interested.

One thought on “When does sunset start getting later where you are?

  1. lceel

    I had never looked into this before – but actually, even though the sun is setting later, it’s rising later, as well, so the days are still getting shorter – until the 21st. Then the days start getting longer – by a few seconds each day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

