I. Got. In.

Remember the juried photography exhibit I mentioned last week?

One of my photographs was accepted. It is my favorite of the four I entered.

Ironically, though, it’s not a photograph that I’d put on my Flickr page. (I’ll put it up after the show is over in late August.) When I sorted through the 1,200 (!) photos I took at Callaway Gardens that day, I didn’t think it was one of my best shots.

It’s amazing how looking at photographs from a different perspective (in this case from that of a professional photographer, judge-type person) can make you “see” them differently. They could just as easily have chosen my least favorite photo.

Or, and this is what I was expecting to happen, they might not have picked any of them. This was the first time I’d entered a photograph in any sort of exhibition, so I am more than a little flummoxed that I got in. I keep thinking there must be some mistake. But the friend who encouraged me to enter assures me it’s not a mistake.

So I will get the photo framed and ready to be displayed. And I’ll go and see it hung with the other photographs in a couple of weeks. That will be exciting.

And I probably still won’t believe it’s real.

19 thoughts on “I. Got. In.

  1. Lis Garrett

    Congratulations! How fantastic!

    Thank you, Lis. I’m really excited. We’re going to get the print framed today; we bought the material on Friday night. 🙂

    Reply
  2. cardiogirl

    Go Rebecca (does the queer churning butter dance with her arms as she sings along) Go Rebecca! YES! You rock! I’m so surprised you took 1200(!) photos from one outing. Are you using film or a digital camera.

    And if it’s digital how big is that memory card chick?

    Hi, CG. Thanks so much. The mental picture of you doing the churning butter dance made me smile, mainly because I know how I look when I do that dance. Heh.

    Yeah. I’m a little camera-happy. I’m using a digital camera. The day we went to Callaway (the day I took the 1,200 photos), I was using a 2 GB card and a 1 GB card. I now have an 8 GB card. That’s way too many photos. Just sayin’.

    Reply
  3. Jrat

    Congratulations! This is great!!

    Hi. Nice to see you commenting. 😉 Thank you for the congratulations.

    Reply
  4. Beth - total mom haircut

    That’s great! Congratulations. Which photo is it?

    Hi, Beth. Thanks so much. The photo is similar to this one. I’m not posting it, because I’m not sure if I’m supposed to (since it’s in a show), and I don’t want to “anger” the photography powers that be. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Daily Dose of Motherhood

    CONGRATULATIONS! I’m so sorry to be a few days late on this. I am so very excited for you!

    Hi! No worries. And I’m close to a week responding to your comment, so even if I wanted to, I wouldn’t complain. 😉

    I appreciate the congratulations. I’m excited, too. WHOO HOO! (Now, I just have to remember to frame the thing, so Ed can take it to the show on Tuesday. Ahem…)

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Ramblings by Reba » Blog Archive » Blue skies and yellow flowers…

  7. lceel

    I am SO SORRY I didn’t say this sooner – but CONGRATULATIONS. Well done.

    That’s o.k. I understand. NO worries. I’m glad you read this, so I didn’t have to track you down specifically to point you to this point. That would have been pushy. 😉

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Ramblings by Reba » Blog Archive » Weekly Winners: June 29-July 5

  9. Pingback: Ramblings by Reba » Blog Archive » Weekly Winners: July 11-July 19

  10. Pingback: Ramblings by Reba » Blog Archive » The juried photo…

Leave a Reply

