It’s my Toby-versary

In November 2001, my friend Sarah and I visited a lady named Marlene Anderson. I visited her because she breeds Cavalier King Charles Spaniels, the breed I’d fallen in love with after looking through a book on dog breeds. I’d never met a Cavalier, however, and Marlene graciously allowed us to come visit her. I fell in love with those dogs. Instantly.

I knew I couldn’t afford to buy a Cavalier puppy, nor was I really interested in a puppy, but hoped I might be able to rescue an adult dog. Marlene suggested I contact all the AKC breed clubs in the metro Atlanta area. She also suggested I contact the Cavalier King Charles Spaniel Club of Greater Atlanta. And then she warned me that Cavaliers don’t come up for rescue often.

I went home that afternoon and sent about 20 e-mails. I expected to wait months — if not much longer.

Ten days and a bunch of phone calls and e-mails later, including one tearful call between the foster family and me after she misunderstood something I’d written on a message board related to the costs associated with pet ownership, I met this guy, who had just come up for rescue with the Greater Atlanta Cavalier group.

toby

It’s Toby!

And here we are the night I met him, while we were still at the foster family’s house.

tobyrebecca

(Both photos taken from the Wayback Machine Internet Archive’s search of the CKCSC of Greater Atlanta site.)

He’s always been a laid-back guy, as you can see. The foster mom told me later that she decided he was mine for sure when he came into the room, saw me, immediately came into my lap and exposed his belly for me to rub.

This is Toby today (literally). I woke him up from a nap, which explains the slightly dazed look. ๐Ÿ™‚

RB288808

Today happens to be the 8-year anniversary of my adopting Toby. I didn’t realize that until I did some research earlier today. ๐Ÿ™‚

This lap dog now goes on hikes. (Not to worry. He still sits in PLENTY of laps.) This shot was also taken today.

RB288779

My life would be vastly different were it not for him. The biggest? I wouldn’t have met Ed. Yay for Toby!

Happy Toby-versary to me. I know we won’t have another eight years together. But I’m going to enjoy every bit of time we do have.

8 thoughts on “It’s my Toby-versary

  1. tara

    What a beautiful dog!! I love dogs and wish mine were smaller so they could be up in the house with us more. Thankfully they LOVE being outside most of the day and in at night and bad weather.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: It’s my Toby-versary again

  3. Pingback: The Tenth Toby-versary

  4. Pingback: Toby’s last photo

Leave a Reply

